LISIS
image description

General presentation

For the last 20 years, research in science and technology studies (STS) has provided an important source of theoretical and empirical renewal. The effects by far exceed science and technology as objects, with the influence of STS being particularly pronounced for the study of organizations, public policy, markets, and social movements: renewal of the analysis of knowledge/power relations; analysis of forms of reasoning and of the diversity of knowledge and controversies; consideration for the role of materiality in what constitutes society (instruments, technical objects, socio-technical arrangements, infrastructure). Without losing sight of these theoretical and methodological assets, it is now time to turn to dimensions that these analyses have neglected far too often, particularly the establishment and maintaining of lasting power asymmetries and the role of institutions. It is also important to take into account the relationship to the long term, by analysing both contemporary transformations of regimes of knowledge production and activities surrounding the construction of futures. We likewise need to investigate not only hot situations, controversies and challenges, but also problems that are prevented from emerging, knowledge that is not produced or that is rendered invisible, and the role of actors given little attention from this perspective, such large corporations, certain international organizations, major research and higher education institutions, etc.

LISIS seeks to contribute to these theoretical and conceptual developments through dialogue between sociology and STS, its two main scientific anchorages. In so doing, it is bolstered by the strength of inter-disciplinarity:
• within the social sciences: STS, Research and Innovation Policy Studies (SPRI), sociology, management, political science, anthropology, ergonomics;
• between the social sciences and other disciplines: informatics, agronomics.

The aim of LISIS research is to understand the social and political transformations linked to scientific and technical innovation in the way we relate to the environment, to economic globalization and to the digitization of social and professional worlds. The implications are twofold: first, it involves working on the joint transformations in ways of producing knowledge and forms of governance (through the parallel study of organizations, public policy and the construction of markets); and second, it means analysing these transformations on different scales, conducting research in many types of spaces (from research laboratories or farms to regulatory agencies and international organizations), and combining qualitative research methods with the processing of large volumes of data.

This project is organized into four main research areas and is driven by three major collective goals.

The first goal is theoretical and conceptual. As regards the study of socio-technical transformations, it is crucial to contribute to renewing conceptions of innovation in society. Taking innovation seriously requires both a better understanding of collective design processes and the associated social and cognitive dynamics, and an analysis of design as an activity that cannot be reduced to knowledge production. It also involves analysing the negotiations, controversies, challenges and conflicts surrounding new technical or organizational solutions. Furthermore, taking innovation seriously requires investigation into the currency of a notion that is constantly used, and into ways of governing innovation, the evaluation of its benefits and risks, the effects of the distribution of resources and wealth, and more generally its social impacts.

It is thus important to make way for a broader conception of innovation processes, taking into account the diversity of its objectives: a conception concerned not only with growth but also with social justice, the reduction of inequalities, and the long-term survival and improvement of democracy. Likewise, there is a need to further knowledge and recognition of the diversity of processes: innovation is not only technological but also social, organizational, and political; not only delegated but also distributed; not only exclusive and proprietary but also founded on the commons and public goods. These processes need to be analysed from different points of view, not focusing only on that of innovators, but also including that of users and non-users. The mutual influences of social forms, innovation processes and the production of new socio-technical assemblages , should also be analysed systematically.

The second aim of LISIS is methodological. Whether LISIS researchers are studying the emergence of agro-ecology, synthetic biology or 3D printing, the influence of standards on innovation in tea plantations in Tanzania or in nano-electronics companies, the regulatory innovations in Europe’s chemical industry, or the circulation of predictive criminology algorithms, their work is rooted in a tradition of in-depth empirical research, attentive not only to the situations and organization of action, to actors’ practices, to technical objects and frameworks and to materiality, but also discursive regimes and institutional dynamics. Beyond their disciplinary affiliations, they all share research practices based on field research, combining qualitative approaches (multi-sited ethnography, document analyses, interviews, etc.) and quantitative processing (mapping and modelling of collaborative networks, database analyses, macro-social trend indicators, etc.). It is our conviction that the work of social science researchers is changing, as: a) we witness a shift in the relationship between qualitative and quantitative (particularly with the end of the assimilation of exploration-validation with qualitative-quantitative ), and b) new possibilities emerge at the interface between digital data collection and processing capacities and the theoretical questions raised in our research fields. It is therefore crucial to acquire innovative facilities (or facilities that allows us to reach this new potential) and to create the necessary experimental spaces, as the articulation between these new techniques and social science research must be pursued and forged if they are to be fully operational and expanded. The potential that we have developed with the CorText platform, which required long and heavy investments (PHARE projects of the CNRS, involvement of INRA, LabEx and DIM, RISIS, funding of facilities by the Region), has developed our disciplinary diversity (collaboration with IT laboratories like the LIGM), as well as an unusual employment structure for a social science and humanities laboratory (engineers, software developers, database technicians), and long-term European commitment (integration into and coordination of European research infrastructure). LISIS has thereby positioned itself as a laboratory conducting research on digital technology and where a digital sociology is developing.

The third goal relates to LISIS’s commitment to research in society. Questions surrounding knowledge, technology and innovation all constitute strong social and political challenges in contemporary societies, and are at the heart of the LISIS project. This orientation also leads to reflection on the interactions between the social sciences and society.

This not only involves asking the predictable question of the different research positions adopted – from action research to more distant or critical positions – but also leads to collective work on the choice of research subjects, on what they reveal or conceal, on forms of attachment to/detachment from actors, on the choice of target audiences for our research, and on the question of knowing “for whom” we work.

Our commitment to research in society draws on the diversity of the training and trajectories of LISIS members, who include many engineers trained in the social sciences. This is valuable for interdisciplinary projects with natural science or engineering science researchers. The development of such projects is a priority for LISIS.

LISIS’s points of anchorage are also valuable. These include INRA, an applied research organization that offers many opportunities for interdisciplinary research on socio-economic transformations. They also include Université Paris-Est and collaboration within the framework of the Health-Society and City-Environment centres and their engineering . We also have in mind our strong anchorage in training in engineering schools, the ESIEE Paris, the École des Ponts ParisTech and AgroParisTech.

LISIS also fosters long-term partnerships with non-academic actors. It is a founding member of the association for the Alliance Sciences Sociétés (ALLISS, Sciences-Societies Alliance) and is developing partnerships with ANSES (a member of UPE). It hosts sociologists working for EDF and ANDRA as associate researchers.

LISIS
image description

Présentation générale

Les recherches réalisées dans le champ des études des sciences et des techniques (Science and Technology Studies –STS) constituent depuis une vingtaine d’années, une importante source de renouvellement théorique et empirique. Les effets dépassent largement les sciences et les techniques comme objets, l’influence des STS étant particulièrement marquée pour l’étude des organisations, de l’action publique, des marchés et des mouvements sociaux : renouvellement de l’analyse des rapports savoir/pouvoir, analyse des formes de raisonnement, de la diversité des façons de savoir et des controverses, prise en compte du rôle de la matérialité dans ce qui fait société (instruments, objets techniques, agencements socio-techniques, infrastructures). Sans perdre ces acquis théoriques et méthodologiques, il convient à présent de mettre l’accent sur des dimensions que ces analyses ont trop négligées, notamment l’établissement et le maintien d’asymétries durables de pouvoir et le rôle des institutions. Il convient aussi de prendre en compte le rapport au temps long en analysant à la fois les transformations contemporaines des régimes de production des connaissances et les activités de construction de futurs. Il convient également de s’intéresser non seulement aux situations chaudes, aux controverses et aux épreuves, mais aussi aux problèmes qui sont empêchés d’émerger, aux connaissances qui ne sont pas produites ou sont invisibilisées, au rôle d’acteurs peu étudiés sous cet angle, tels que les grandes entreprises, certaines organisations internationales, les grandes organisations de recherche et d’enseignement supérieur, …

Le LISIS entend contribuer à ces développements théoriques et conceptuels dans un dialogue entre sociologie et STS, ses deux ancrages scientifiques principaux. Il bénéficie pour ce faire de l’atout de l’interdisciplinarité :

  • au sein des sciences sociales : STS, Etudes des Politiques de Recherche et d’Innovation (SPRI), sociologie, gestion, science politique, anthropologie, ergonomie;
  • entre sciences sociales et autres disciplines : informatique, agronomie.

L’enjeu des recherches du LISIS est de comprendre les transformations sociales et politiques liées à l’innovation scientifique et technique dans notre rapport à l’environnement, à la globalisation économique et à la digitalisation des mondes sociaux et professionnels. Il s’agit, d’une part, de travailler sur les transformations conjointes des façons de produire des connaissances et des façons de gouverner (saisies à la fois dans l’analyse des organisations, de l’action publique et de la construction des marchés) et, d’autre part, d’analyser ces transformations à différentes échelles, en conduisant des enquêtes dans de nombreux espaces (des laboratoires de recherche ou des exploitations agricoles aux agences réglementaires en passant par les organisations internationales) et en associant méthodes d’enquête qualitatives et traitement de grands corpus de données.

Ce projet se décline dans les quatre axes de recherche et comporte trois grands enjeux collectifs.

Le premier enjeu est théorique et conceptuel. Dans la perspective de l’étude des transformations socio-techniques, il est essentiel de contribuer au renouvellement des conceptions de l’innovation en société. Prendre au sérieux l’innovation requiert de mieux comprendre les processus de conception collective et les dynamiques sociales et cognitives qui leur sont liées, d’analyser la conception comme une activité non réductible à la production de connaissances. Il s’agit aussi d’analyser les négociations, controverses, contestations et conflits au sujet des nouvelles solutions techniques ou organisationnelles. Prendre au sérieux l’innovation requiert également de s’interroger sur l’actualité d’une notion continûment mobilisée, sur les façons de gouverner l’innovation, sur l’évaluation de ses bénéfices et de ses risques, sur ses effets sur la distribution des ressources et des richesses, et plus généralement sur ses impacts sociaux.

Il convient ainsi de faire place à une conception élargie des processus d’innovation, prenant en compte la diversité de ses objectifs : non seulement orientée vers la croissance mais aussi vers la justice sociale, la réduction des inégalités, la durabilité et l’amélioration de la démocratie. Il s’agit également de mieux (re)connaître la diversité des processus : l’innovation est non seulement technologique mais aussi sociale, organisationnelle, politique ; non seulement déléguée mais aussi distribuée ; non seulement exclusive et propriétaire mais aussi fondée sur les communs et sur les biens publics. Il convient d’analyser ces processus de différents points de vue, sans privilégier celui de l’innovateur mais en tenant aussi compte de celui des usagers et non-utilisateurs. Il convient également d’analyser systématiquement les influences mutuelles des formes sociales, des processus d’innovation et de la production des nouveaux agencements socio-techniques.

Le second enjeu du LISIS est méthodologique. Que l’on considère l’émergence de l’agro-écologie, de la biologie de synthèse ou de l’impression 3D, l’influence des standards sur l’innovation dans les plantations de thé en Tanzanie ou dans les entreprises de nano-électronique, l’innovation réglementaire dans l’Europe de la chimie, ou bien encore de la circulation des algorithmes de criminologie prédictive, les chercheurs du LISIS s’inscrivent dans une tradition de recherche empirique approfondie, attentive aux situations et à l’organisation de l’action, aux pratiques des acteurs, aux objets et dispositifs techniques et à la matérialité, mais aussi aux régimes discursifs et aux dynamiques institutionnelles. Tous partagent, au-delà de leurs appartenances disciplinaires, des pratiques de recherche fondées sur l’enquête de terrain, combinant des approches qualitatives (ethnographie multi-située, analyses documentaires, entretiens,…) et des traitements quantitatifs (cartographie et modélisation de réseaux collaboratifs, analyses de bases de données, indicateurs de dynamiques macro-sociales,…). Notre conviction est que le métier de chercheur en sciences sociales est en train de changer car I) on assiste à un renouvellement du rapport entre qualitatif et quantitatif (avec notamment la fin de l’assimilation exploration-validation à qualitatif-quantitatif) et 2) des possibilités nouvelles existent, à la rencontre des capacités de collecte et de traitement de données numériques et des questions théoriques posées dans nos champs de recherche. Il est donc essentiel de se doter d’équipements novateurs (ou permettant de réaliser ces nouvelles potentialités) et de créer les espaces d’expérimentation nécessaires car l’articulation entre ces nouvelles techniques et la recherche en sciences sociales doit être poursuivie et travaillée, pour pouvoir être pleinement opérationnelle et étendue. C’est le potentiel que nous avons construit avec la plateforme CorText qui a nécessité des investissements longs et lourds (projets phare du CNRS, engagement de l’INRA, Labex et DIM, RISIS, financement d’équipements par la Région) qui nous conduisent à une mixité disciplinaire (collaboration avec ces laboratoires d’informatique comme le LIGM), à une structure d’emplois inhabituelle pour un labo de SHS (ingénieurs, développeurs de logiciels, techniciens de bases de données), à un engagement européen long (insertion dans, et coordination d’une infrastructure européenne de recherche). Ce faisant, le LISIS se positionne comme un laboratoire conduisant des recherches sur les technologies numériques et où développant une sociologie numérique.

Le troisième enjeu concerne l’engagement du LISIS pour des recherches en société. Les questions de savoirs, de techniques ou d’innovation sont constitutives d’enjeux sociaux et politiques forts dans les sociétés contemporaines et sont au cœur du projet du LISIS. Cette orientation conduit aussi à un travail réflexif sur les interactions entre sciences sociales et société.

Cela implique non seulement de se poser la question attendue des différentes postures de recherche adoptées – de la recherche-action à des postures plus distantes ou critiques – mais cela conduit également à travailler collectivement sur le choix des objets de recherche, sur ce qu’ils permettent ou empêchent de voir, sur les formes d’attachement/détachement avec les acteurs, sur le choix des destinataires de nos recherches, sur la question de savoir « pour qui » nous travaillons.

Notre engagement pour les recherches en société s’appuie sur la diversité des formations et des parcours des membres du LISIS qui compte de nombreux ingénieurs formés aux sciences sociales. Les projets interdisciplinaires avec des chercheurs des sciences de la nature ou de l’ingénieur en sont facilités. Le développement de tels projets constitue un objectif prioritaire du LISIS.

Les ancrages du LISIS sont également des éléments favorables. On pense à l’INRA, organisme de recherche finalisé, qui offre de nombreuses opportunités de recherches interdisciplinaires sur des transformations socio-économiques. On pense aussi à l’Université Paris Est et aux collaborations dans le cadre des pôles Santé-société et Ville-environnement et leurs ingénieries. Nous pensons également à notre ancrage fort dans la formation dans les écoles d’ingénieurs, l’ESIEE Paris, l’École des Ponts ParisTech et AgroParisTech.

Le LISIS noue aussi des partenariats de long terme avec des acteurs non académiques. Il est membre fondateur de l’association pour l’Alliance Sciences Sociétés (ALLISS). Il développe des relations partenariales avec l’ANSES (qui est membre de l’UPE). Il accueille comme chercheurs associés des sociologues en poste à EDF et à l’ANDRA.